Schon Emmanuel ist ein Front of House und Monitor Tontechniker. Schon hat seine Tontechniker-Ausbildung auf der Kingston Universität in England absolviert. Seinen ersten Gig hatte er kurz darauf mit dem renommierten Jazz Saxophonisten Courtney Pine. Schon machte das monitoring für den in-ears Mix und verwendete fortgeschrittene Aufnahme-Techniken. Courtney und die Band waren so von Schon’s Arbeit beeindruckt, dass sie allen davon erzählten und Schon dadurch zu einem sehr guten Ruf in der Szene verhalfen. Er machte dann die Monitors für Craig David und mixte später dann Craig und seine Band. Dann kamen Anita Baker und Al Green. Schon machte auch den Submix für Jay-Z's Orchester auf dessen Europa-Tour und wurde dann der Tontechniker der Stunde um Chöre zu mixen. 

Auch bei Billy Ocean fing Schon als Monitor Techniker an und mixte später dann sowohl FOH und Monitore. Billy liebte den Publikumssound und fragte Schon dann, ob er ab jetzt immer FOH für ihn mixt. Schon ist zur Zeit wieder mit Billy auf Tour. 

Schon’s Mixing- Philosophie basiert darauf das richtige Mikrofon für die Sound-Quelle zu verwenden: “Dadurch kann man die Menge, die man an EQ hinzufügen oder wegnehmen muss minimieren - um so Phasensprung-Anomalien zu minimieren. Wenn du also alles bei der Soundquelle richtig machst, ist dein Job mehr oder weniger getan!

Schon hat seine LEWITT Mikrofone bei Projekten mit A$AP Rocky, Billy Ocean, und Alexander O’Neil Daley verwendet und sagt über seine Erfahrungen mit den Mikros: 

I liebe meine LCT 550. Sie geben meinem Schlagzeug dieses 3D, was andere Großmembran Kondensator-Mikros nicht tun, wenn ich sie als Overheads einsetze. Das LCT 240 war eine Offenbarung an meiner zweiten Snare. Die hochgestimmte Drum poppte – das Mikrofon nicht. Ich war ein großer Fan von den EV 468 Mikros an den Toms, aber als ich zum ersten mal das DTP 340 TT verwendet habe, gab es keinen Weg mehr zurück! Die Drums hören sich so unfassbar natürlich im Mix an... und in meiner Welt ist NATÜRLICHKEIT EINE GUTE SACHE!

Das DPT 640 REX Kick Drum Mikrofon ist hervorragend. Obwohl ich jede Menge Technik verwende, suche ich nach dieser natürlichen Klangcharakteristik. Es gibt nichts besseres als eine gut gestimmtes Drum Kit in Kombination mit einem Mikrofon, dass den natürlichen Klang abnimmt. Ich möchte ein Mikrofon, dass das verstärkt, was ich höre - und keinen verfärbten Klang oder Sound. Daher liebe ich die LEWITT's: sie sind transparent und ein viel besseres Werkzeug! 

Lee Everett, einer unserer Tontechniker zeigte uns das handgehaltene MTP 550 DM und wir nahmen damit Vocals auf – das MTP 550 DM ist grandios! Es ist sehr rückkopplungsarm und ich muss es nicht "bändigen", wie die Mikrofone der anderen Marken, die wir vorher verwendet haben. Ich habe einen A/B Vergleich gemacht und das MTP 550 DM ist seitdem mein Lieblings Mikrofon. Ich möchte mir noch ein paar LEWITT's kaufen um die anderen Mikrofone zu ersetzen, die wir noch haben.

Ich nehme meine Mikrofone überall hin mit, weil ich auf der sicheren Seite bin, wenn ich meine LEWITT's parat habe!.”

MTP550DM LEWITT handheld stage microphone best live vocal mic
MTP550DM LEWITT live performance vocal mic, best live microphone

Photo © Schon Emmanuel

"Lee Everett, one of the other engineers, introduced us to the handheld MTP 550 DM, and we use them on vocals – they’re fantastic. They have great feedback rejection. I don't have to "tame them” like I do with the other brands of mics we were using. So I’m looking to purchase a few more to replace what we currently use. I did an A/B test, and the LEWITT MTP 550 DM is now my first choice.

I find myself carrying them everywhere I go, because I just need to know I have my LEWITT microphones on hand.”

Schon Emmanuel uses the MTP 550 dynamic stage microphone by LEWITT

Lee Everett and Schon Emmanuel on tour with Billy Ocean



LCT 550 Teaser
LCT 550

Aktuelle Version: LCT 540 S

MTP 550 Teaser
MTP 550 DM

Rückkopplungsarm, minimaler Körperschall, keine Probleme. Der neue Standard in der Klasse der dynamischen Gesangsmikrofone.

DTP 340 TT Teaser
DTP 340 TT

Dynamisches Mikrofon für Toms und Perkussion - transientenreich und durchsetzungsstark.

DTP 640 REX Teaser
DTP 640 REX

Doppel-Element-Mikrofon mit schaltbaren Klangaspekten. Für alle basslastigen Anwendungen geeignet.

DTP Beat Kit Pro 7 Teaser
DTP Beat Kit Pro 7

Dieses Mikrofon-Set beinhaltet ein Kick Drum-Mikrofon, drei dynamische Tom-Mikros, zwei Kondensatormikrofone sowie ein dynamisches Mikrofon für deine Snare.

Schon Emmanuel is an extraordinary engineer specialized in monitors and FOH. Emmanuel, who comes from a recording studio background and trained at Kingston University in England, had his first gig with the renowned jazz saxophonist Courtney Pine. As a monitor engineer mixing jazz artists’ in-ears, Schon used ambient mics and developed recording techniques to be used for live monitors. Courtney and the band were so impressed with Schon’s work that they spread the word, putting Schon on the road to a world-class reputation. He went on to do monitors for Craig David as his personal engineer, later on mixing Craig and the entire band. Then came Anita Baker and Al Green. Schon submixed the orchestra for Jay-Z on his European tour (monitors as well as mains), and he then became known as the go-to guy for mixing choirs.

With Billy Ocean, he also started out as a monitor engineer, and then he wound up mixing both FOH and monitors for a corporate gig. Billy didn’t realize he was doing both; he loved the audience sound, and when he found out that it was Schon, he asked Schon to switch to FOH. Schon is currently once again on tour with Billy. 

Schon’s mixing philosophy is based on picking the correct mic for the correct source: “This minimizes having to add or take away EQ – in turn minimizing phase shift anomalies and more. So if you get things right at the source, you’re job is more or less is done.” 

Schon has also worked with a large number of US gospel artists such as Israel Houghton and the New Breed, Donnie McClukin, Kirk Franklin, Joyce Myer, Donald Lawrence, Tye Tribbett, CeCe Winans, Marvin Sapp, TD Jakes, Fred Hammond, and others. When there’s call for a first class FOH engineer, one of the first people they ask is Schon Emmanuel.

Schon has done projects with A$AP Rocky, Billy Ocean, and Alexander O’Neil Daley using his LEWITT microphones.

Schon on his experiences with LEWITT mics:

“I love my LCT 550s. They give my drums the 3D that other large-diaphragm condensers don’t when used as overheads. The LCT 240 was a revelation on my 2nd snare. The highly tuned drum popped – the mic did not. I’d been a big fan of the EV 468 mic on toms, but when I first used the LEWITT DTP 340 TT, there was no going back. Listening to the drums in the mix, they sound so natural. Not hyped or scooped ... and in my world, NATURAL IS A GOOD THING.

The DPT 640 REX kick drum mic is beautiful. Though I do use a lot of technology, I look for the natural sonic characteristics. There’s nothing like a well-tuned drum with a mic that picks up the natural sound. I want my mics to amplify what I hear – not color the tone or sound. Which is why I love the LEWITTs: they’re transparent and a much better tool."
 

MTP550DM LEWITT handheld stage microphone best live vocal mic
MTP550DM LEWITT live performance vocal mic, best live microphone

"Lee Everett, one of the other engineers, introduced us to the handheld MTP 550 DM, and we use them on vocals – they’re fantastic. They have great feedback rejection. I don't have to "tame them” like I do with the other brands of mics we were using. So I’m looking to purchase a few more to replace what we currently use. I did an A/B test, and the LEWITT MTP 550 DM is now my first choice.

I find myself carrying them everywhere I go, because I just need to know I have my LEWITT microphones on hand.”

Schon Emmanuel uses the MTP 550 dynamic stage microphone by LEWITT

Lee Everett and Schon Emmanuel on tour with Billy Ocean



LCT 240 Teaser

LCT 240

Highly versatile studio and live microphone in a compact enclosure. 

LCT 550 Teaser

LCT 550

0 dB (A) self-noise from electronics and circuitry - and always a matched pair.

MTP 550 Teaser

MTP 550 DM

High gain before feedback, low handling noise, zero hassle.
The new vocal performance standard.

DTP 340 TT Teaser

DTP 340 TT

Tom and percussion microphone for transient-rich and punchy sound.

DTP 640 REX Teaser

DTP 640 REX

Dual-element kick drum microphone with switchable sound characteristics. Suitable for all bass-heavy applications.

DTP Beat Kit Pro 7 Teaser

DTP Beat Kit Pro 7

Professional 7-piece drum mic kit with one kick mic, three tom mics, two overheads and a snare mic.